Tarlac Representative Susan Yap Named Outstanding Congressman

City of Tarlac, Philippines – Tarlac second district Congresswoman Susan Yap was named one of the 20 outstanding Congressmen for the year 2014 by the Superbrand Marketing International [SMI], Inc. in a lavish ceremony held at the Mandarin Oriental Manila.

Yap was named because of her splendid legislative performance as a legislator and her dedication shown in serving her constituents.

The youngest daughter of the late Tarlac political icon Jose “Aping” Yap, Yap has authored or co-authored some of the major bills that pertains to the welfare of women and children. Some of these are the Mandatory Immunization for Children, Foster Care Act, Anti-Trafficking Act amendments, Universal Healthcare Coverage, Reproductive Health Act, Kindergarten Education and the K plus 12.

SMI President Harry Tambuatco said,“The outstanding Congressman Award is given to honor the best legislators in the Lower House. This is also a way for us to thank them for their dedication in serving our country.”

SMI is the registered intellectual property owner of the Annual Outstanding Congressman Awards.

Yap for her part thanked SMI for the recognition saying, “I am very much honored to be recognized by SMI…but we still have a long way to go in terms of improving the lives of our people through legislation. We have to continue what we have started so that our plans for the Filipinos to have a better life will be realized.”

Yap likewise dedicated the award to her late father and to all women and children.

In Yap’s acceptance speech she said that she is privileged to be part of the 15th Congress that is geared towards the country’s economic growth.

“I am privileged to be part of the 15th Congress which I believe has started a reform process that will propel our country towards higher growth. We will be ending this Congress on a high note with the enactment into law of landmark measures that will support inclusive growth and uplift the welfare of our people,” she said.

She added, “Even as the elections approaches, let our focus and resolve to effect meaningful reforms not waver. Let this be a chance for us to feel the pulse of our people, determine what they truly need, and enable them to benefit from the economic gains we are realizing.”

Others who were likewise recognized by the SMI were Congressmen Joseph Emilio Abaya, Romeo Acop, Rodolfo Antonino, Elpidio Barzaga, Jorge Banal, Ramon Durano, Jun Omar Ebdane, Albert Raymond Garcia, Anthony Rolando Golez, Jr., Mark Llandro Mendoza, Florencio Noel, Karlo Alexei Nograles, Victor Francisco Ortega, Lani Mercado-Revilla, Rufus Rodriguez, Lorenzo Tanada III, Irwin Tieng, and Arnel Ty.

Written by thedistriq

NGCP: Olongapo City, parts of Bataan to experience blackout

Senator Guingona orders Mayor Junjun Binay arrested for contempt